B2B customers

After you create a price list and a company, customers for that company access price lists by logging in to their profile in your online store. The first time the customer logs in, they're prompted to enter a six-digit verification code that is sent to their email address.

Permissions for B2B customers

When you assign a customer to a company or create a new B2B customer profile, you select the permissions to assign to them from the following:

  • Ordering only - The customer can make purchases for the company location and see the list of orders that they have placed.
  • Location admin - The customer can make purchases for the company location and see the list of orders that all customers have placed for that location.

Add a customer to a company location

You can add an existing customer to a company or create a new customer profile from the Companies page.

Steps:

  1. In your Shopify admin, go to Customers > Companies.
  2. Click the company to add a customer to.
  3. In the Locations section, click the location's name.
  4. In the Location contact section, click Add contact.
  5. Do one of the following:
    • To add an existing customer to the company location, click the Find a customer box and start typing. When the customer to be added is found, click on the customer's name.
    • To create a new customer profile, click the Find a customer search box and then click Add new customer.

You can also add a customer to a company from that customer's profile page.

Steps:

  1. In your Shopify admin, go to Customers.
  2. Click on the customer's name.
  3. In the Customer section, click Add to company.
  4. Click the Find company search box and start typing. When the company to add the customer to is found, click on the company name.

Remove a customer from a company

  1. In your Shopify admin, go to Customers > Companies.
  2. Click the company to delete customers from.
  3. In the Customers section, click ... and then click Remove customers.
  4. Check the customers to be removed from the company.
  5. Click Remove customers.

Saving payment information

If a customer saves their credit card information, then they can select their card from a list of saved payment methods in future orders. Saved card numbers are displayed using only the last four digits of the card. After credit card information is saved, the full credit card number can't be seen by either the merchant or the customer.

At checkout, a customer can choose to save a card. In future purchases, the customer can select it from the list to pay for an order.

Credit card information can't be edited or deleted. If a credit card number is incorrect or expired, then new information must be added at the checkout.

B2B customer experience

When a customer logs in, they're taken to their account page, which displays their account information and a list of their orders. The order details can be reviewed by clicking on the order.

To place an order, the customer clicks Go to store in their account page. This takes the customer to your online store. The customer selects products to add to their cart as usual, with the exception that the prices offered are those that you specified in your price list for that company.

To place an order, the customer goes through the following process:

  1. In their account page, the customer clicks Go to store, which takes them to your online store.
  2. In your online store, the customer selects products and adds them to the cart. The prices offered are those that you specified in your price list for that company location.
  3. In the checkout page, the shipping information and payment options are pre-filled according to the information in the company profile. If the company payment terms are set to None, then the customer enters their credit card information to complete the order.
  4. Optional: After the customer has entered their credit card information, they have the option to save their information for future purchases.

When the customer reaches the checkout, the shipping information for the order is pre-filled according to the information in the company profile. Payment options depend on the payment terms that you've set for the company.

If the company payment terms are set to None, then the customer must pay for their order immediately. They're prompted to enter their credit card information to complete the order.

Ready to start selling with Shopify?

Try it free