Manage your Google Smart Shopping campaign

Google Smart Shopping uses machine learning to create ads for your business by using feeds submitted from your Google Merchant Center. Smart Shopping campaigns use insights from Google and your store to reach new buyers and remarket to existing users who have interacted with your online store before.

Campaign tracking

Google Smart Shopping helps you review the impact of your marketing campaigns by letting you track specific actions that your customers take. When you create a campaign, some conversion actions are automatically added to your Google advertising account.

You can review the impact of your Google Smart Shopping campaign from the Marketing > Automations page in Shopify. You can review the following information:

  • Total sales - the total number of sales from your Google Shopping campaign
  • Total impressions - the total number of times a Google Shopping ad is shown on Google
  • Total clicks - the total number of clicks your ads receive
  • Total orders - the total number of orders from your Google Shopping campaign
  • Cost per click - the average amount of money paid for a single click on your ad
  • Cost per acquisition - the total cost of ads divided by the total number of orders

You can also manually calculate your return on ad spend (ROAS) by dividing your total sales from the ad campaign by your total ad spend. If your ROAS is higher than zero, then your ad campaign is showing positive results.

All events are accessible for review in your Google Ads account.

Steps

  1. From your Google Ads account, click Tools.

  2. Click Measurement > Conversions.

  3. Click the event.

  4. Click Edit settings > Include in "Conversions".

You can also pause your campaign or edit your average daily budget by clicking Manage Campaign.

Maximize the impact of your Smart Shopping campaign

Google Smart Shopping campaigns use smart technology to optimize your ads and show them to people searching for your products in Shopping, YouTube, the Display Network, and Gmail.

It takes 14 days for Google's smart technology to learn how to best show your ads, so let your campaign run for at least 14 days before you change or evaluate its performance. After 14 days, make one change to your campaign and wait another 14 days to determine whether your change was an improvement.

Review the following changes that you can make to help your campaign maximize its success.

Set a budget

Choosing a budget for your campaign can be complex, but setting the right budget can help you maximize your campaign success.

Adjust your daily budget

Different product categories tend to need different average daily budgets. For example, products that are higher in price, like jewellery or bicycles have a higher cost per conversion.

Google Ads uses an average daily budget, and not the exact budget daily. For example, if you decide to set your budget at $10, then Google might spend $5 one day, and $15 the following day. Consider spending a minimum of $5 for your average daily budget.

Measure your return on ad spend

To understand how your campaign if performing with your current set budget, you can calculate your return on ad spend (ROAS). You can do this by dividing your total sales by your total ad spend.

  • If your ROAS is greater than 1, then you are seeing positive results from your current campaign budget.

  • If your ROAS is 1, then your ad spend is being covered by your sales.

After you determine your ROAS and understand how your ad campaign is performing, make a decision about how you'd like to adjust your budget.

  • If your ROAS is positive, then consider increasing your budget.

  • If your ROAS isn't positive, then consider optimizing your campaign for a different result.

For example, Kade sells bracelets at a 25 USD profit. Kade ran a small 20 USD marketing campaign and made one sale. The ROAS for that campaign is 25/20 = 1.25. Because the ROAS is positive, Kade decides to run a monthly campaign with an average daily budget of 20 USD, which gives a monthly budget of 600 USD.

Build your product feed

Your product feed is the list of products that you want to advertise. The Google sales channel automatically updates your product feed when you add, edit, or delete products from your Shopify admin.

To maximize your ad campaign, you can manually adjust the product attributes in your product feed. Product attributes are information about your products, such as product title, description, and price. Make sure to write your product attributes in a way that resonates with your audience.

Product title

Your product title is an important part of your ad or free listing. Specific and accurate product titles help Google show your products to the right customers. There are a few things you can do while developing a good product title:

  • Create a list of phrases that someone would use when searching for your product.
  • Research how competitors describe their products.
  • Use Google Trends to test your potential product titles.

For more information on writing product titles, refer to Google Merchant Center Help.

Pricing

Make sure that your pricing is competitive in your market. Customers see alternative products to yours, so having a comparably priced product is important.

Product type

Google uses product types to understand what you're selling and to match your ads to relevant searches. When you categorize your product, it's important to follow these rules:

  • Use > to separate levels in your product category
  • Use this format for your product type: Product type > Product subtype 1 > Product subtype 2 > season/occasion/topic. For example, Animal & Pet Supplies > Pet Supplies > Dog Supplies > Dog Apparel

Steps:

  1. From your Shopify admin, click Google.
  2. Choose the product that you want to edit and click Edit Google fields.
  3. Input your edited product type in the Google product category field.
  4. Click Save.

Product identifiers

Unique product identifiers help Google verify the product that you're selling. Make sure to properly set up these identifiers so that your product can be displayed in a Google Smart Shopping campaign. Refer to Unique product identifiers for more information.

Optimize your customer shopping experience

Your campaign's success can be affected based on what happens after they click on your ad. By understanding how your customers behave when they arrive at your store, you can improve their shopping experience.

Identify shopper drop-off points

To improve your website experience, use your Google Smart Shopping campaign data to understand when customers leave your store in order to improve your on-site experience.

Use the Marketing section in your Shopify Reports to analyse metrics for Session, Added to cart, and Orders. These can help you understand how far into the buying process your customers are getting.

For more information on marketing reports in the Shopify admin, refer to Marketing reports.

Improve your store's features

Google Smart Shopping campaign ads link to the product page of your online store. Consider adding multiple images, and editing your product page to set a good first impression with your customers.

You can also use Google's Grow My Store for recommendations on how to improve your store.

Build trust with customers

To create trust with your customers, consider improving the written content on your online store. Make sure that your product information, customer support, and return policy are all written in a clear and understandable way.

If you notice that customers leave your store after viewing your product page, then consider the following:

For more ideas on how to improve your online store, refer to How to Optimize Your Product Pages for More Sales on the Shopify Blog.

Editing, pausing, or removing Google Smart Shopping campaigns

You can manage your Google Smart Shopping campaigns from your Shopify admin. You can edit, pause, or delete your draft and published ads from your Marketing section.

When you edit a draft marketing activity or automation, you can save your changes or publish it. Draft marketing activities are listed on the Marketing page and draft automations are listed on the Marketing > Automations page.

To delete a marketing activity that you created in Shopify, go to the Marketing section of your Shopify admin, and then click Campaigns. Select the marketing activity that you want to delete, click Delete activity, and then click Delete activity again to confirm your choice.

When you delete a marketing activity or automation in Shopify, you won't be billed for it anymore. Shopify syncs to the related service to update your account with any changes that you make. While the activity or automation is in the process of being deleted outside of Shopify, it has a Being deleted status in Shopify. After the activity is fully deleted outside of Shopify, it's removed from the list in Shopify. Deleting a marketing activity or automation is permanent.

Marketing activities created outside of Shopify need to be deleted from the service where they were created.

Getting help with Google Ads

Contact Google Ads Help to get help with the following topics:

  • billing and invoicing for Google Ads
  • policies, ad reviews, and campaign optimization
  • setting up ad types that the Google channel doesn't support, such as video campaigns
  • Google Merchant Center
  • Google Analytics

You can contact Shopify Support to get help setting up or using the Google channel.

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