Saving and retrieving a Shopify POS cart

If your customer needs to leave before completing their purchase, but they want to come back, then you can save the cart to be completed later. Saving the cart enables you to continue with other orders without losing the details of the current order. When they return, you can retrieve the order on Shopify POS.

Save the cart for later retrieval

Saving a cart is useful when your customer is at checkout but needs to leave briefly, such as if they want to purchase another item, need to make a phone call, or need to visit an ATM. While that customer is away, you can take other orders. When the customer returns, you can open their saved cart and finish the sale.

A saved cart is available only on the iPad it was saved on. All staff have access to all the saved carts on an iPad.

Items in a saved cart are considered reserved, and are not considered part of the inventory that is available to be bought on your online store. Carts are saved until they are retrieved, or until you log out of the Shopify POS app.

Steps:

You can retrieve this cart when you're ready to continue with the order.

You can begin a new transaction in the meantime.

Retrieve a saved cart

Add save cart to your Smart grid

If you need to save carts often, then you can add a Save cart button to your smart grid on Shopify POS.

Steps:

Ready to start selling with Shopify?

Try it free