Managing workflows in Shopify Flow

Workflows can be copied, imported, deleted, or exported to share with other merchants or to create a backup copy.

Copy a workflow

Workflows can be copied within your store to create a backup or to edit an existing workflow.

Steps:

  1. From your Shopify admin, click Settings > Apps and sales channels.

  2. From the Apps and sales channels page, click Shopify Flow.

  3. Click Open app.

  4. Click ... beside the workflow that you want to copy.

  5. Click Copy workflow.

  6. Enter a new name for the copy.

  7. Click Copy workflow.

Export a workflow

Workflows can be exported to share with other merchants or to create a backup copy. Before you export a workflow to share with others, ensure that you remove any identifying or sensitive information, such as email addresses or other contact information. The workflow is exported as a .flow file through your browser.

Steps:

  1. From your Shopify admin, click Settings > Apps and sales channels.

  2. From the Apps and sales channels page, click Shopify Flow.

  3. Click Open app.

  4. Select the workflows to export.

  5. Click Export workflows.

Import a workflow

Workflows can be imported from other merchants or from a backup copy. Before you enable a workflow that wasn't created by your organization, review it to ensure the following:

  • Email and messaging addresses have been changed to the correct destinations.
  • Message text matches the style and tone of your business.
  • Actions that use messaging services that aren't used by your organization are replaced with actions that send an email.

Steps:

  1. From your Shopify admin, click Settings > Apps and sales channels.

  2. From the Apps and sales channels page, click Shopify Flow.

  3. Click Open app.

  4. Click Import.

  5. Click Add files or drag a .flow file from your desktop to the Import workflow box.

  6. Optional: Click Preview workflows to review workflows before importing them.

  7. Click Import.

Delete a workflow

You can delete workflows that you no longer need. Deleted workflows can't be recovered. If you think you might need a copy of a workflow in the future, then export a copy before you delete the workflow.

Only inactive workflows can be deleted. If you want to delete an active workflow, then deactivate it first by clicking the workflow, and then clicking Turn off.

Steps:

  1. From your Shopify admin, click Settings > Apps and sales channels.

  2. From the Apps and sales channels page, click Shopify Flow.

  3. Click Open app.

  4. Select the workflows to delete.

  5. Click Delete workflows.

Ready to start selling with Shopify?

Try it free