Manage, duplicate, copy, import, export, or delete workflows in Shopify Flow

Workflows can be organized with tags, and can be duplicated, deleted, imported, or exported to share with other merchants or to create a backup copy.

Manage workflow tags

You can organize workflows by adding tags to them. Tags help you categorize and filter workflows, making it easier to find and manage workflows in your store.

After you add tags to workflows, the tags display in the following locations:

  • In the Tags column on the Workflows table on the Flow home page.
  • In the heading section of the workflow's overview page, beneath the title and last updated date.

You can filter the Workflows table on the Flow home page using tags to quickly find workflows with specific tags.

Learn more about organizing your workflow list with tags

Add a note to your workflow in Shopify Flow

You can add a note to any workflow in the workflow editor in Shopify Flow. Workflow notes give you a space to explain your workflow in your own words. With a note, you can include context about your workflow, including some of the following examples:

  • Document your decisions for how the workflow is structured.
  • Record requirements and dependencies for what the workflow needs to successfully run.
  • Leave instructions to other collaborators who might edit the workflow later.
  • Include simple data, such as who authored the workflow and when the workflow was originally created.

The workflow note displays beside the workflow's trigger as an expanded text box with the title About this workflow. A workflow must have a trigger before a note can be added. Each workflow can have only 1 note at a time. A note can contain up to 1500 characters and up to 20 lines.

Steps:

  1. From your Shopify admin, go to Apps > Flow.

  2. Click the workflow that you want to add a note to.

  3. Click Edit to open the workflow editor.

  4. Click More actions > Add note.

  5. Click the About this workflow note box.

  6. Add your content in the text field. You can format the note's content using the Rich Text Editor.

  7. Click Done.

You can edit the content of the note at any time by clicking the About this workflow note box. To remove the note from the workflow, click More actions > Remove note.

Duplicate a workflow

Workflows can be duplicated within your store to create a backup or to edit an existing workflow.

Steps:

  1. From your Shopify admin, go to Apps > Flow.

  2. Click the workflow that you want to duplicate.

  3. Click More actions > Duplicate workflow.

  4. Enter a new name for the copy.

  5. Click Duplicate.

Copy a workflow to another store

If your store is on the Shopify Plus plan, then you can copy workflows between stores in your organization. You can copy a workflow only if you have the Shopify Flow app and channel permission.

  1. From your Shopify admin, go to Apps > Flow.

  2. Click Horizontal menu for the workflow that you want to copy.

  3. Click More actions > Copy to another store. A new window opens where you can search for and select stores to copy to. Only stores that you have Shopify Flow app permissions for are displayed.

  4. Select the stores to copy the workflow to.

  5. Click Copy workflow.

Export a workflow

Workflows can be exported to share with other merchants or to create a backup copy. Before you export a workflow to share with others, ensure that you remove any identifying or sensitive information, such as email addresses or other contact information. The workflow is exported as a .flow file through your browser.

Steps:

  1. From your Shopify admin, go to Apps > Flow.

  2. Select the workflows that you want to export.

  3. Click More actions > Export.

Import a workflow

Workflows can be imported from other merchants or from a backup copy. Before you activate a workflow that wasn't created by your organization, review the following elements:

  • Email and messaging addresses have been changed to the correct destinations.
  • Message text matches the style and tone of your business.
  • Actions that use messaging services that aren't used by your organization are replaced with actions that send an email.

Steps:

  1. From your Shopify admin, go to Apps > Flow.

  2. Click Import.

  3. Click Add files or drag a .flow file from your desktop to the Import workflow box.

  4. Optional: Click Preview workflows to review workflows before importing them.

  5. Click Import.

Deactivate a workflow

You can turn off workflows that you no longer need to actively run. Workflows that have been turned off change to an Inactive state and can be turned back on at any time to resume operations.

Steps:

  1. From your Shopify admin, go to Apps > Flow.

  2. Select the workflow that you want to turn off.

  3. Click Turn off workflow.

  4. Optional: If there are any runs of the workflow that are in progress, then click Turn off to cancel the runs.

Delete a workflow

You can delete workflows that you no longer need. Deleted workflows can't be recovered.

If you might need the workflow in the future, then consider any of the following alternatives:

Only inactive workflows can be deleted. If you want to delete an active workflow, then deactivate it first by clicking the workflow, and then clicking Turn off.

Steps:

  1. From your Shopify admin, go to Apps > Flow.

  2. Select the workflows that you want to delete.

  3. Click More actions > Delete.

Managing workflows that contain a marketing activity

If you create a workflow using Shopify Flow that includes a marketing activity action, then it also displays in your Shopify admin as a marketing automation, and can be edited from the Automations section in the Shopify Messaging app or in the Flow app.

Workflows that integrate with the following connector apps include a marketing activity action: