Refunding and canceling orders

You might need to cancel an order if you need to give a refund, or if a customer changes their mind about an order before you've captured payment for it. You can give the customer a full or a partial refund for a whole order, or you can give a refund for some part of an order.

Note

If you are using Shopify Payments and you issue a refund, then the amount will be subtracted from your next payout. If your payout does not have enough funds, then the balance will be debited from your account instead.

Review an order's transaction history

You can view the transaction history, which includes refunds, in the Timeline section of an order's overview page:

Cancel an order

If you cancel an order, in whole or in part, then the details about what was restocked and refunded will be stored in the order's Timeline.

To cancel an order:

  1. From your Shopify admin, click Orders (or press G O):

    Orders
  2. Click the number of the order that you want to cancel.

  3. Click the ... icon:

    Cancelled closed menu
  4. Click Cancel order:

    Cancelled exposed menu
  5. Select the reason for cancellation from the drop-down menu.

  6. By default, a full refund will be issued. If you want to issue a partial refund, then use the product quantity boxes, the shipping field, or the refund total field to edit the refund amount:

    Cancel order refund
  7. If you don't want the refunded items to be restocked in your inventory, then uncheck the restock items checkbox:

    Restock checkbox
  8. If you don't want to send a notification email to the customer, then uncheck the notification checkbox.

  9. Click Cancel order.

If you partially refunded the customer while canceling the order, then you can return to this order and issue additional partial refunds.

Caution

If there was a discount code applied to this order, Shopify is able to refund more than the customer paid you. Choose the amount to refund carefully. Refunds can not be reversed.

Note

Using this feature will also automatically dispute your Shopify transaction fees. If the order was placed within your current billing cycle, the fees will be removed from your upcoming invoice. If they were on a previous billing cycle, you will be issued transaction fee credit on your next invoice.

Refund an entire order

Tip

If you cancel an order in your Shopify admin, then you can choose to issue a full refund, a partial refund, or no refund.

To refund an entire order in Shopify:

Refund part of an order

You can issue a partial refund for specific items in an order. You can then issue additional partial refunds until you've reached the total available to refund, which is the original amount of the order.

Delete an order

Tip

Orders where payment was processed through Shopify POS or your online checkout can be archived, but not deleted.

Deleting an order will remove any record of it from your Shopify admin and your order history. Only the following types of order can be deleted:

You can delete eligible orders after they have been archived or canceled.

To delete an order:

  1. From your Shopify admin, click Orders (or press G O):

    Orders
  2. Click the number of the order that you want to delete.

    Note

    Before you can delete an order, it must be archived or canceled. Orders where payment has been processed through Shopify POS or your online checkout can be archived, but not deleted.

  3. Click Delete this order at the bottom of the page:

    Delete order

    Note

    If the Delete this order button does not appear, then the order can't be deleted. You can archive it instead.

Want to discuss this page?

Visit the Shopify Community

Ready to start selling online with Shopify?

Try it free