Sending order updates and responding to messages in Messenger
After you add the Messenger sales channel in your Shopify admin, your customers can sign up at checkout to receive Messenger updates from your store. They'll receive notifications when their orders are completed and shipped, and have the ability to shop for other products directly from your conversations in Messenger.
Sending notifications about orders and shipping
When customers check out from your store, they will see a Messenger widget on your checkout page that opts them in to receiving updates from Messenger. To see the Messenger widget, customers need to be logged in to their Facebook accounts from their browsers when they check out from your store. After they opt in, customers receive order confirmations and shipping notifications in Messenger.
Customers who have opted in to receive updates won't see the widget on your checkout page the next time they buy something from you.
Customers can opt out of receiving updates by clicking Turn off in the Order updates section of the order status page:
Turn off notifications for a Facebook user
If a customer accidentally places an order while logged in to the wrong Facebook account and opts in to order updates, then the order updates might be sent through Messenger to the wrong Facebook user. This can result in confusion for the Facebook user, who would not have any knowledge of the order. Since this Facebook user does not have access to the order status page, they can't turn off the order update notifications. You can turn off order updates that are being sent to the wrong Facebook user:
In your Shopify admin, click Orders.
Click the order which is sending notifications to the incorrect Facebook user.
On the order details page, click More actions, and then select View order status page:
In the Customer section of the order status page, click Turn off to turn off Messenger updates.
The Facebook user will no longer receive notifications for this order.
Responding to messages
You can respond to messages from customers in Facebook. To make it easier for you to keep up with your incoming messages, you can create saved replies in Facebook. Learn how to create and how to use saved replies for your messages.
If you find that you’re getting overwhelmed by incoming messages, then you can remove the Messenger channel until you catch up on your current messages. New customers won't be able to opt into updates or message you directly by using Messenger, but existing customers will continue to receive Messenger updates from your store. When you're ready to start receiving messages again, you can add the Messenger channel. If you decide to add the Messenger channel again with the same Facebook page, then you can continue the conversations that you had started before.
Facebook messaging policy
If a customer hasn't sent a Facebook message to your business's Facebook page in over 24 hours, then Facebook will restrict the messages you can send to that customer. To make sure the order confirmation and shipping update messages are delivered, some message customizations might not be displayed. Read more about Facebook's Standard Messaging, 24 Hour Window Policy.