Configurer vos codes fiscaux Avalara

Une fois que vous avez connecté votre compte Avalara AvaTax à Shopify, vous pouvez configurer les codes des impôts Avalara de vos produits. Cela vous permettra de facturer des taxes dans votre boutique en utilisant les services d'Avalara au lieu du moteur de taxes intégré de Shopify.

Codes fiscaux par défaut

Les codes des impôts d'Avalara AvaTax sont des libellés uniques que vous pouvez appliquer aux produits et variantes de votre boutique. Ils identifient la catégorie à laquelle un produit appartient et déterminent les règles fiscales à lui appliquer en fonction du lieu où il est vendu.

Lorsque vous utilisez Avalara AvaTax, le code P000000 est initialement attribué à vos produits ; il s'agit du code des impôts par défaut. Si vous vendez des produits ou des services qui nécessitent l'utilisation d'un code différent, vous pouvez modifier le code des impôts de ces produits.

Configuration des codes fiscaux

Avant de commencer la configuration des codes fiscaux d'Avalara AvaTax, assurez-vous d'effectuer les tâches suivantes dans l'interface administrateur Shopify et dans votre compte Avalara :

  • Dans votre interface administrateur Shopify, configurez vos taux de taxation. Si le service d’Avalara est temporairement indisponible, les paramètres de taxe de Shopify vous indiqueront les taux de taxation pour vos produits et les frais d’expédition.

  • Dans votre compte Avalara AvaTax, configurez les juridictions de votre lien fiscal (nexus) pour informer Avalara AvaTax de la date et du lieu où votre entreprise compte calculer et déclarer les taxes. Si vous effectuez des ventes dans des juridictions que vous n'avez pas configurées dans Avalara AvaTax, le calcul qui en résultera retournera une valeur imposable de zéro.

  • Si vous utilisez Shopify PDV pour vendre dans des endroits différents, vous devez effectuer les tâches suivantes dans Avalara AvaTax :

  • Vérifiez que toutes les informations fiscales nécessaires que vous avez fournies sont les mêmes dans Shopify et dans Avalara AvaTax.

Définir le code AvaTax d'un produit

AvaTax ajoute un code fiscal par défaut à chaque produit de votre boutique Shopify. Le code fiscal par défaut des biens physiques est P000000.

Pour chaque produit ou variante de votre interface administrateur Shopify, assurez-vous que le code fiscal est configuré sur le code fiscal Avalara de ce produit.

Étapes :

  1. Recherchez les codes des impôts de votre produit dans le système Avalara AvaTax.

  2. Dans votre interface administrateur Shopify, accédez à Produits et cliquez sur le produit.

  3. Dans la section Tarification, cliquez sur le champ Code fiscal et saisissez le code fiscal approprié.

  1. Cliquez sur Enregistrer.

Appliquer des codes fiscaux à plusieurs produits et variantes

Appliquez des codes fiscaux à plusieurs produits et variantes à la fois en utilisant l’éditeur en bloc pour les produits de votre interface administrateur Shopify.

Il est également possible d’appliquer des codes fiscaux avec l’API de l’interface administrateur Shopify en configurant la tax_codepropriété avec les points de terminaison Produit ou Variante de produit.

Prêt(e) à commencer à vendre avec Shopify ?

Essayez gratuitement

Set up your Avalara tax codes

After you've connected your Avalara account with Shopify, you can set up the Avalara tax codes for your products. This lets you charge taxes in your store using Avalara’s services instead of Shopify’s built-in tax engine.

Default tax codes

Avalara tax codes are unique labels that you can apply to the products and variants in your store. Tax codes identify the category that a product belongs to and determine the tax rules that apply to a product based on the location in which it is sold.

When you use Avalara AvaTax, your products are initially tagged with a default tax code (physical good tax code P000000). If you're selling products or services that need to use a different code, then you can change the tax code for those products.

Set up your tax rates

Before you start configuring your Avalara AvaTax tax codes, make sure that you complete the following tasks in your Shopify admin and in your Avalara account:

  1. In your Shopify admin, set up your tax rates . If Avalara's service is temporarily unavailable, then Shopify's tax settings will be used as a backup for providing tax rates for your products.

  2. In your Avalara AvaTax account, set up your nexus jurisdictions to inform AvaTax when and where your company will calculate and report tax. If you make sales in jurisdictions that you haven't set up in Avalara AvaTax, then the resulting tax calculation will return a value of zero. If you need help setting up your nexus jurisdictions, then you can refer to Avalara's Help Center or contact your Shopify Plus merchant success manager for support.

  3. Verify that all the necessary tax information that you've provided is the same in both Shopify and Avalara. In the AvaTax app in your Shopify admin, open the Nexus Information page. This page contains a comparison of your Shopify and Avalara tax information. Each state is marked with one of the following Status labels:

    • Complete - Your tax information for this state is the same in both Shopify and Avalara.
    • Action required - You have tax information for this state in Avalara that isn't included in your Shopify tax settings. You need to update these settings in Shopify so that they match the information in Avalara.
    • Attention requested - You have tax information for this state in Shopify that isn't included in Avalara. You can update Avalara to include this information, leave the information as is, or delete it from Shopify, depending on whether you expect to have customers in this location.

Set the AvaTax code for a product

AvaTax adds a default tax code to each product in your Shopify store. For example, the default tax code for physical goods is P000000.

For each product or variant in your Shopify admin, make sure that the Tax code is set to the Avalara tax code for that product.

To add a tax code to a product:

  1. Look up the tax codes for your a product in the AvaTax System.

  2. In your Shopify admin, go to Products and open the product page.

  3. In the Pricing section, click the Tax code drop-down menu and select the appropriate tax code:

    Select a tax code from the drop down menu in the pricing section

    Note

    If you leave the product code blank, then Avalara will assign a standard code (physical good tax code) of P000000 to your product or variant.

  4. Click Save.

Apply tax codes for multiple products and variants

You can apply tax codes to multiple products and variants at once by using the Product or Product variant resources in the Shopify Admin API, or by using the Bulk Editor for Products in your Shopify admin.

In the following example, the tax code PC040101 is added to the Acme Apron variant:

PUT /admin/variants/variant[id]

{
"variant": {
"option1": "Acme Apron",
"price": "99.00",
"tax_code":"PC040101"
}
}

In the following example, the tax code PC040413 is added to the product variant Youth:

{
"product": {
"title": "Tests-12345",
"body_html": "Hi",
"vendor": "Burton",
"product_type": "Snowboard boots",
"variants": [
{
"option1": "Youth",
"price": "10.00",
"sku": 123,
"tax_code": "PC040413"

},
{
"option1": "Adult",
"price": "20.00",
"sku": "123"
}
]
}
}

Want to discuss this page?

Visit the Shopify Community

Ready to start selling online with Shopify?

Try it free