退款及查詢作業

如果您的商店接受信用卡,就很可能需要處理扣款或查詢作業。若持卡人對他們的某一項刷卡費用有疑問,就會聯絡銀行並提出異議。接著,銀行就會辦理扣款或執行查詢作業。持卡人可能是您的某位客戶,也可能有某人認為他的信用卡於未經授權的情況下在您的商店被盜刷。

若持卡人的銀行為其辦理扣款,則銀行將會立即向您收回有爭議的款項金額。此外,持卡人的銀行也會向您收取扣款手續費。若持卡人的銀行決定執行查詢作業,他們將不會立即向您收取有爭議的款項金額或手續費。

您可以嘗試透過幾種方法來解決扣款或查詢問題。一般情況下,發卡銀行會審查所有的證據,然後以對您或持卡人有利的方式了結扣款爭議。如果您在扣款爭議中獲勝,將能收回有爭議的款項金額,且 Shopify 會將退款手續費退還給您。如果持卡人於扣款爭議中獲勝,則該筆爭議金額就會退還給持卡人。

如果您使用 Shopify Payments 並發還退款,系統就會從您下一筆可用支付款項中扣除該金額。如果您位於英國、愛爾蘭、新加坡、紐西蘭、義大利、德國、荷蘭、香港、丹麥或西班牙,且您收到的支付款項不足以支付欠款金額,不足額的部分將會從下一筆支付款項中扣除,直到補足全額為止。對於使用 Shopify Payments 的其他所有地區,如果您的支付款項金額不足,則會在付款當天從您的銀行帳戶扣除餘額。

退款作業

典型的退款作業如下:

  1. 持卡人對銀行的信用卡費用提出異議。
  2. 持卡人的銀行向信用卡公司發出退款要求,並向您收取有爭議的金額及退款手續費。
  3. 信用卡公司會請您提供可證明該筆收費是否有效的證據。
  4. 您與 Shopify 收集可證明該筆收費是否有效的證據。
  5. Shopify 向信用卡公司提出回覆。
  6. 信用卡公司會審查所有的證據。在提出證據回覆之後,審查作業最多可能需要 120 天的時間。
  7. 信用卡公司了結退款爭議。

如果您在扣款爭議中獲勝,持卡人的銀行會向您退還有爭議的款項金額,而 Shopify 也會將扣款手續費退還給您。如果您贏得部分扣款,則持卡人的銀行會向您退還部分爭議金額,而 Shopify 仍會將扣款手續費退還給您。如果持卡人於扣款爭議中獲勝,則您將無法收回有爭議的款項金額及扣款手續費。

退款費用

銀行向您發出扣款時,會向您收取一筆手續費。如果扣款爭議以對您有利的結果結案,則 Shopify 會將這筆費用退還給您。下列為個國家/地區的退款手續費明細:

  • 澳洲:25 澳幣
  • 加拿大:15 加幣
  • 丹麥:15 歐元
  • 德國:15 歐元
  • 香港:85 港幣
  • 愛爾蘭:15 歐元
  • 日本:1,300 日圓
  • 荷蘭:15 歐元
  • 紐西蘭:20 紐幣
  • 新加坡:15 新加坡元
  • 西班牙:15 歐元
  • 英國:10 英鎊
  • 美國:15 美元

查詢爭議

典型的查詢爭議如下:

  1. 持卡人對銀行的信用卡費用提出異議。
  2. 持卡人的銀行向信用卡公司發出查詢要求。信用卡公司不會向您收取有爭議的款項金額。
  3. 信用卡公司會請您提供可證明該筆收費是否有效的證據。
  4. 您與 Shopify 收集可證明該筆收費是否有效的證據。
  5. Shopify 向信用卡公司提出回覆。
  6. 信用卡公司會審查所有的證據。審查作業通常會在交易後的 60 至 120 天內完成。
  7. 信用卡公司了結查詢爭議。

如果查詢作業以對您有利的結果結案,有爭議的款項金額將會退還給您。如果持卡人在查詢爭議中獲勝,則信用卡公司將會向您收取爭議金額及退款手續費。

解決退款或查詢問題

您可以嘗試透過下列方法來解決退款或查詢問題:

聯絡客戶

您可以透過電話或電子郵件方式,與提交該筆訂單的客戶進行溝通,尋求解決問題的辦法。如果客戶同意不須辦理退款,則客戶必須與銀行聯絡,並要求銀行撤銷退款作業。您亦應提供可表明客戶同意撤銷退款的證明。

新增額外證明

在持卡人的銀行辦理扣款或查詢作業之後,您需要在規定的期限內提交可證明該筆收費有效的證據。提交證據的期限,取決於信用卡公司之規定,以及扣款的原因。請洽詢信用卡公司,以確認扣款作業的期限。

您所需提供的證據類型,取決於持卡人要求退款或查詢的原因。請確保您所提供的相關證據能切中要點。您可以考慮提供客戶授權證明、所提供的服務或商品配送證明。此外,亦可包含您的服務條款與退款政策。若您要附加任何文件檔案或圖片,請確保以清晰的格式提供,以便他人可於不進行縮放或裁切的情況下清楚檢視內容。

若您使用 Shopify Payments,則 Shopify 會收集證據,並於到期日之前為您向信用卡公司做出回應。您亦可於到期日之前,為您的回應新增額外證明。到期日為要求退款或查詢之後的 7 至 21 天不等。

如果您使用第三方付款服務供應商,則應與您的供應商聯絡,以瞭解如何向信用卡公司提供證據。

接受退款或查詢要求

接受退款

如果您認為某項扣款要求實屬合理,可以不提交任何證據就接受退款要求。有爭議的款項金額會直接退還給客戶,而您的扣款手續費將不予退還。

核發退款以結束查詢作業

如果您認為某項查詢要求的理由實屬合理,您可以直接核發該筆訂單的全額退款,以結束查詢作業。如果您只核發部分退款,全額扣款仍可能發生。如果您核發全額退款,持卡人便無法發起扣款。

退款或查詢的原因

為解決退款及查詢問題,您應向信用卡公司提供的證據類型,取決於客戶要求退款或查詢的原因。客戶可能會基於下列任一原因而對款項提出異議:

  • 詐騙
  • 不明款項
  • 複製
  • 訂閱已取消
  • 未收到產品
  • 產品無法接受
  • 抵用金未處理
  • 一般

詐騙

若持卡人並未授權該筆費用,扣款就會標籤為「Fraudulent」(詐騙)。這是最常見的扣款原因,經常發生於信用卡遺失或遭竊的情況。

若要處理詐騙收費,您可以嘗試聯絡提交該筆訂單的客戶。客戶有可能已忘記該筆購物消費,或該筆消費可能是由配偶、朋友或家人所做。如果客戶同意該筆費用合理無誤,您應該請客戶聯絡銀行,向銀行表示他們要撤銷退款作業。您也應向信用卡公司提交證明,包括客戶表示撤銷詐騙控訴的聲明。

若您認為客戶有誤或陳述不實,請向信用卡公司提交下列證據:

  • 該筆訂單的出貨日期與時間
  • 客戶使用的帳單資訊
  • 訂單使用的 IP 位址及國家/地區
  • 訂單的運送及追蹤資訊

不明款項

如果客戶不認得信用卡對帳單中的商家名稱或消費地點,該筆扣款就會標籤為「Unrecognized」(不明款項)。

若要處理不明款項,您應嘗試與客戶聯絡。有時候,客戶有可能會忘記該筆購物消費,或該筆消費可能是由配偶、朋友或家人所做。如果客戶同意該筆費用合理無誤,您應該請客戶聯絡銀行,向銀行表示他們要撤銷退款作業。

您也應向信用卡公司提交證明,包括客戶表示撤銷詐騙控訴的聲明。您可以提供如下所列的若干證據:

  • 該筆訂單的出貨日期與時間
  • 客戶使用的帳單資訊
  • 訂單使用的 IP 位址及國家/地區
  • 訂單的運送及追蹤資訊

複製

若客戶認為您對同一項產品或服務向其重複收費,扣款就會標籤為「Duplicate」(重複)。

如果您並未對客戶重複收費,您應嘗試與客戶聯絡。您可以向客戶說明,兩筆收費分屬於不同的產品或服務。如果客戶同意該筆費用合理無誤,您應該請客戶聯絡銀行,向銀行表示他們要撤銷退款作業。

若客戶在與您溝通之後並未撤銷其扣款或查詢要求,您就需要提交相關證據來證明兩筆收費分屬於不同的產品或服務。您可以提供如下所列的若干證據:

  • 說明兩筆收費的原因
  • 顯示兩筆收費分屬於不同產品或服務的收據
  • 您向客戶說明這兩筆收費的所有通訊內容

如果您確實對同一項產品或服務向客戶重複收費,您就必須接受扣款要求。

訂閱已取消

若客戶認為您在應該已經取消訂閱之後向其收取費用,扣款將會標籤為「Subscription canceled」(訂閱已取消)。此情況也可能表示,客戶預期會在每次收取定期費用之前收到提醒通知,但卻沒有收到。

若要解決退款問題,您應與客戶聯絡。您可以嘗試解釋誤會情況,或與客戶達成協議。若您與客戶雙方達成了協議,您應該請客戶聯絡銀行,向銀行表示他們要撤銷退款作業。您亦應向信用卡銀行提供雙方溝通的證明。

如果您認為在收取費用之前,客戶並未取消訂閱,則您應該向信用卡公司提供證據,以證明客戶是在最後一次收費之後才取消其訂閱。您可以提供如下所列的若干證據:

  • 您的訂閱取消政策
  • 您傳送給客戶關於取消訂閱的任何電子郵件或通知
  • 關於您在何時何處已向客戶顯示訂閱取消政策的說明
  • 若為數位化產品或服務,則可提供顯示客戶存取該產品或服務之日期晚於其宣稱取消訂閱日期的活動記錄

如果您確實在客戶已取消訂閱之後向其收費,您就必須接受扣款要求。

未收到產品

若客戶認為他們沒有收到所購買的產品或服務,扣款將會標籤為「Product not received」(未收到產品)。

建議您先嘗試與客戶聯絡,以找出問題所在。如果您與客戶雙方間的問題獲得了解決,您應該請客戶聯絡銀行,向銀行表示他們要撤銷退款作業。在您向信用卡公司提出的回覆之中,亦應包括客戶同意撤銷退款要求的證明。

如果您與客戶雙方間的問題無法獲得解決,您應該向信用卡公司提供證據,證明客戶在要求退款之前已收到您的產品或服務。您可以提供如下所列的若干證據:

  • 該筆訂單的出貨日期與時間
  • 客戶使用的帳單資訊
  • 該筆訂單的運送及追蹤資訊
  • 若為數位化產品或服務,則可提供顯示客戶存取該產品或服務的活動記錄

產品無法接受

若客戶認為所收到的產品有瑕疵、受損或不符合描述,扣款將會標籤為「Product unacceptable」(產品無法接受)。

請先嘗試與客戶聯絡。如果您與客戶雙方間的問題獲得了解決,您應該請客戶聯絡銀行,向銀行表示他們要撤銷退款作業。您也應向信用卡公司提交證明,表明客戶同意撤銷退款要求。如果客戶在要求退款之前並未嘗試退回產品或取消服務,或者您為客戶提供了替換產品或服務,也請您提供證明。

無論您與客戶雙方間的問題是否獲得解決,您都應該將所有相關證據提供給信用卡公司。您可以提供如下所列的若干證據:

  • 該筆訂單的出貨日期與時間
  • 客戶使用的帳單資訊
  • 該筆訂單的運送及追蹤資訊
  • 擷取自您商店的產品說明與圖片,證明其符合描述

抵用金未處理

若客戶通知您,已將所購買的產品退還或已取消交易,但您尚未辦理扣款或抵用金,則扣款將會標籤為「Credit not processed」(抵用金未處理)。

請先嘗試與客戶聯絡。您無法於客戶提出退款要求後核發退款,但您可以向客戶說明情況,或尋求其他解決辦法。若客戶提出查詢要求,則您可以核發退款。如果您與客戶雙方間的問題獲得了解決,您應該請客戶聯絡銀行,向銀行表示他們要撤銷退款或查詢作業。您也應向信用卡公司提交證明,表明客戶同意撤銷退款要求。

如果您無法解決問題,且認為退款要求無效,則您應該向信用卡公司提供證據,證明您已於客戶要求退款或查詢之前給予退款,或該名客戶無權要求退款。您可以提供如下所列的若干證據:

  • 您的退款及退貨政策
  • 關於您在何時何處已向客戶顯示退款政策的說明
  • 您傳送給客戶的關於退款的任何電子郵件或通知
  • 關於客戶為何無權要求退款的說明

一般

若退款要求不屬於其他任一種類別,則退款會標籤為「General」(一般)。

若要解決一般退款問題,建議您先嘗試與客戶聯絡,以找出問題所在。如果您與客戶雙方間的問題獲得了解決,您應該請客戶聯絡銀行,向銀行表示他們要撤銷退款作業。您也應向信用卡公司提交證明,表明客戶同意撤銷退款要求。

如果客戶不願意撤銷退款要求,您應向信用卡公司提交證據,證明該筆費用有效。您可以提供如下所列的若干證據:

  • 客戶所訂購之產品的相關資訊
  • 該筆訂單的出貨日期與時間
  • 客戶的帳單資訊
  • 客戶的 IP 位址及國家/地區
  • 您與客戶雙方間的電子郵件或其他通訊內容
  • USPS/FedEx/UPS 或其他線上追蹤或運送確認資訊
  • 先前的退款或換貨之證明

準備好開始透過 Shopify 銷售商品了嗎?

免費試用

Chargebacks and inquiries

If you accept credit cards on your store, then you'll have to deal with chargebacks or inquiries. When a cardholder has an issue with a charge on their credit card, they can contact their bank and dispute the charge. The bank will then make a chargeback or inquiry. The cardholder can be one of your customers or someone who believes that their card was used on your store without their permission.

If the cardholder's bank makes a chargeback, then the bank will take the disputed amount from you right away. The cardholder's bank will also take a chargeback fee from you. If the cardholder's bank makes an inquiry, then they won't take the disputed amount or a fee right away.

You can try to resolve the chargeback or inquiry in a few ways. Often, the company that issued the cardholder's credit card will review any evidence and then close the chargeback in either your favor or the cardholder's favor. If you win the chargeback, then you get the disputed amount back, and Shopify will refund the chargeback fee. If the cardholder wins the chargeback, then the disputed amount is returned to the cardholder.

Chargeback process

This is the typical process for a chargeback:

  1. The cardholder disputes a credit card charge with their bank.
  2. The cardholder's bank sends a chargeback request to the credit card company, and takes the disputed amount and a chargeback fee from you.
  3. The credit card company asks you for evidence that the charge was valid.
  4. You and Shopify gather evidence to figure out whether the charge was valid.
  5. Shopify sends a response to the credit card company.
  6. The credit card company reviews the evidence. The review usually takes between 60 and 120 days after the transaction was made.
  7. The credit card company resolves the chargeback.

If you win the chargeback, then the cardholder's bank will return the disputed amount to you, and Shopify will refund you the chargeback fee. If the chargeback is a partial win, then the cardholder's bank will return some of the disputed amount to you, and Shopify will still refund you the chargeback fee. If the cardholder wins the chargeback, then the disputed amount and the fee won't be returned to you.

Chargeback fee

When a bank sends you a chargeback, they'll also charge you a processing fee. The fee is 15 USD in the United States, 15 CAD in Canada, 10 GBP in the UK, 25 AUD in Australia, 20 NZD in New Zealand, and 15 EUR in Ireland. If the chargeback is resolved in your favor, then Shopify will refund this fee.

Inquiry process

This is the typical process for an inquiry:

  1. The cardholder disputes a charge with their bank.
  2. The cardholder's bank sends an inquiry request to the credit card company. The credit card company does not take the disputed amount from you.
  3. The credit card company asks you for evidence that the charge was valid.
  4. You and Shopify gather evidence to figure out whether the charge was valid.
  5. Shopify sends a response to the credit card company.
  6. The credit card company reviews the evidence. The review usually takes between 60 and 120 days after the transaction was made.
  7. The credit card company resolves the inquiry.

If you the inquiry is closed in your favor, then the disputed amount will be returned to you. If the cardholder wins, then the credit card company will take the disputed amount and a fee from you.

Resolve a chargeback or inquiry

You can help to resolve a chargeback or inquiry in the following ways:

Contact the customer

You can talk to the customer who made the order by phone or email to see if you can resolve the issue. If the customer agrees that the chargeback isn't necessary, then the customer must contact their bank and ask them to drop the chargeback. You should also submit evidence that shows that the customer agreed to drop the chargeback.

Add additional evidence

After the cardholder's bank makes a chargeback or inquiry, you'll have time to submit evidence that the charge was valid. The type of evidence you should submit depends on the reason that the cardholder asked for a chargeback or inquiry.

If you use Shopify Payments, then Shopify collects evidence and sends a response to the credit card company for you on the due date. You can add additional evidence to the response before the due date. The due date is usually 10 days after the chargeback or inquiry is filed.

If you're using a third-party payment provider, then you should contact your provider to find out how to send evidence to the credit card company.

Accept the chargeback or inquiry

If you think that a chargeback is justified, then you can accept it by not submitting any evidence. The disputed amount is returned to the customer, and you won't be refunded for the chargeback fee.

If you think that the reason behind an inquiry is justified, then you can issue a refund for the order to end the inquiry.

Reasons for a chargeback or inquiry

The type of evidence you should send to the credit card company to resolve a chargeback or inquiry depends on the reason that the customer gave for the chargeback or inquiry. A customer might dispute a charge for one of the following reasons:

Fraudulent

The chargeback will be marked as Fraudulent if the cardholder didn’t authorize the charge. This is the most common reason for a chargeback and can happen if the card was stolen.

To deal with a fraudulent charge, you can try to contact the customer who placed the order. The customer might have forgotten about the purchase, or the purchase might have been made by a spouse, friend, or family member. If the customer agrees that the charge was justified, then you should tell them to contact their bank and say that they want to drop the chargeback. You should still submit evidence to the credit card company, including the statement where the customer said they would drop the charge.

If you think that the customer is mistaken or not telling the truth, then you should submit the following evidence to the credit card company:

  • the date and time that the order was fulfilled
  • the billing information that the customer used
  • the IP address and country used for the order
  • shipping and tracking information for the order.

Unrecognized

The chargeback will be marked as Unrecognized if the customer doesn’t recognize the merchant name or location on their credit card statement.

To deal with an unrecognized charge, you should try to contact the customer. Sometimes the customer might have forgotten about the purchase, or the purchase might have been made by a spouse, friend, or family member. If the customer agrees that the charge was justified, then you should tell them to contact their bank and say that they want to drop the chargeback.

You should still submit evidence to the credit card company, including the statement where the customer said they would drop the charge. You could include evidence such as:

  • the date and time that you fulfilled the order
  • the billing information that the customer used
  • the IP address and country used for the order
  • shipping and tracking information for the order.

Duplicate

The chargeback will be marked as Duplicate if the customer believes that you charged them twice for the same product or service.

If you didn't charge your customer twice, then you should try to get in touch with them. You can show them that the two charges were for separate products or services. If the customer agrees that the charge was justified, then you should tell them to contact their bank and say that they want to drop the chargeback.

If the customer does not drop the chargeback or inquiry after you talk to them, then you'll need to submit evidence that the two charges were for separate products or services. This evidence could include:

  • an explanation of the reason for the two charges
  • receipts that shows that the two charges were for different products or services
  • any communication with the customer where you let them know about the two charges.

If you did charge your customer twice for the same product or service, then you'll have to accept the chargeback.

Subscription canceled

The chargeback will be marked as Subscription canceled if the customer believes that you charged them for a subscription after it should have been canceled. It can also mean that the customer expected a reminder before each recurring charge but didn’t receive one.

To resolve the chargeback, you should get in touch with your customer. It's possible that you can explain the misunderstanding, or come to an agreement with the customer. If you come to an agreement, then you should tell the customer to contact their bank and say that they want to drop the chargeback. You should also send evidence of this conversation to the credit card company.

If you think the customer didn't cancel the subscription before the charge, you should submit evidence to the credit card company that proves that the customer canceled their subscription after the last charge. This evidence could include:

  • your subscription cancellation policy
  • any emails or notifications sent to the customer about their cancellation
  • an explanation of when and where the customer was shown the cancellation policy
  • if the product or service was digital, an activity log that shows that the customer accessed the product or service after the date when they said they canceled their subscription.

If you did charge your customer after they canceled their subscription, then you'll have to accept the chargeback.

Product not received

The chargeback will be marked as Product not received if the customer believes that they did not receive the goods or services they purchased.

You should try to get in touch with the customer first to figure out the problem. If you can resolve the problem with your customer, then you should tell the customer to contact their bank and say that they want to drop the chargeback. You should also include evidence that the customer agreed to drop the chargeback in the response you send to the credit card company.

If you can't resolve the issue with your customer, you should submit evidence to the credit card company that proves that the customer received the product or service before the chargeback was made. This evidence could include:

  • the date and time that you fulfilled the order
  • the billing information that the customer used
  • shipping and tracking information for the order
  • if the product or service was digital, an activity log that shows that the customer accessed the product or service.

Product unacceptable

The chargeback will be marked as Product unacceptable if the customer feels that the product was received but was defective, damaged, or not as described.

Start by trying to get in touch with the customer. If you can resolve the problem with the customer, then you should tell the customer to contact their bank and say that they want to drop the chargeback. You should also send evidence to the credit card company that the customer agreed to drop the charge. If the customer didn't try to return the product or cancel the service before the chargeback was made, or if you provided the customer with a replacement product or service, send evidence of that as well.

Whether you resolve the issue with the customer or not, you should still send any relevant evidence to the credit card company. This evidence could include:

  • the date and time that you fulfilled the order
  • the billing information that the customer used
  • shipping and tracking information for the order
  • descriptions or pictures of the products from your store that prove that they were as described.

Credit not processed

The chargeback will be marked as Credit not processed if the customer informed you that the purchased product was returned or that the transaction with you was canceled, but you have not yet refunded or credited the customer.

Start by trying to get in touch with the customer. You can't issue a refund after a chargeback has been made, but you might be able to explain the situation or figure out another way to solve the problem. If the customer asked for an inquiry, then you can issue a refund. If you can resolve the problem with the customer, then you should tell the customer to contact their bank and say that they want to drop the chargeback or inquiry. You should also send evidence to the credit card company that the customer agreed to drop the chargeback.

If you can't resolve the issue, and you think that the chargeback is not valid, then you should send evidence to the credit card company that you either gave the customer a refund before the chargeback or inquiry was made, or that the customer was not entitled to a refund. This evidence could include:

  • your refund and return policies
  • an explanation of when and where the customer was shown the refund policy
  • any emails or notifications you sent to the customer about the refund
  • an explanation of why the customer was not entitled to a refund.

General

A chargeback is marked as General if it doesn't fit into one of the above categories.

To resolve a general chargeback, you should start by trying to contact the customer so you can figure out what the problem is. If you can solve the problem for the customer, then you should tell the customer to contact their bank and say that they want to drop the chargeback. You should also send evidence to the credit card company that the customer agreed to drop the charge.

If the customer doesn't want to drop the chargeback, then you should send evidence to the credit card company that the charge was valid. This evidence could include:

  • details about the products that were ordered
  • the date and time that the order was fulfilled
  • the customer's billing information
  • the customer's IP address and country
  • emails or other communication you had with the customer
  • USPS/FedEx/UPS or other online tracking or shipping confirmations
  • proof of prior refunds or replacement shipments.

Want to discuss this page?

Visit the Shopify Community

Ready to start selling online with Shopify?

Try it free