Enabling or disabling customer accounts

When you enable customer accounts, Shopify stores password-protected information about a customer's identity, order history, and current order status. Your customers' details, such as address information, will be pre-filled from the stored information during checkout. To use customer accounts you need to have the Online Store sales channel.

Set your customer account preferences

You can make customer accounts required, optional, or disable them altogether. When creating an account, customers are redirected to a separate account creation page. Keep in mind that requiring customers to create accounts might decrease sales conversions.

To edit your customer account settings:

  1. In the Customer accounts section, choose a customer account option:

    • Accounts are disabled: Customers won't see the option to create an account or to log in during checkout. They'll have to enter their details at checkout because their information won't be filled automatically.
    • Accounts are optional: Customers can create an account, but it's not mandatory to create an account to check out. If customers do have an account and they're logged in, then their address information is filled automatically when they place an order. Customers have the option to log in through the Already have an account? Log in link above the email entry field. Clicking this link prompts a customer to either enter their email address and password, create a new account, or continue to check out as a guest.
    • Accounts are required: Customers need to create an account or have an account, and to be logged in to complete the checkout. This setting is useful if, for example, you operate a wholesale or members-only store. Addresses are filled automatically when the customer places an order. Selecting Accounts are required doesn't remove the option for your customers to create accounts. To limit access to your store, you need to customize your store's theme.
  2. Click Save to confirm your customer account settings.

If customers are logged in during checkout, then they can select one of the addresses that they used recently. Alternatively, they can type their address. Customers cannot choose the five addresses that they want to save.

Your checkout form also has the Save this information for next time option. If a customer selects Save this information for next time during their checkout, then the customer's browser saves the contact and shipping address information that they entered for your store. Next time that customer uses your checkout, their browser automatically fills their contact and shipping address information. Shopify doesn't store the customer's saved information. The information is cached by the customer's browser. After one year, Shopify causes the browser to clear the customer's cached information, providing the customer hasn't cleared their cache sooner.

Ready to start selling with Shopify?

Try it free