Control what people can see and do in your organization by adding users and giving them access to stores and to organization features.
From the Users page in the Shopify organization admin, you can manage what your users can do in your organization, including:
- make changes within specific stores
- make organization-wide changes that can affect all your stores
- change organization security requirements
- add, suspend, or remove users
Tools and administration access
Tools and administration accesses provide features to users in the Shopify organization admin, which let them make changes to all stores in your organization. These changes can affect stores where the user hasn't been specifically granted access.
For example, suppose you have four stores in your organization. A user in your organization has access to one store. If you grant that user access to Flow in your organization, then they can create and edit workflows in all four of your stores, not just the one that they have access to.
Tools and administration accesses are different from store permissions. Some accesses let users do things that aren't possible in a store's Shopify admin, such as create a new store. Other accesses let users perform actions that only a store's owner could perform, such as create users.
Tools and administration accesses include the following permissions.
View sales and order data. A user with this access can perform the following tasks:
A user with this access can view the data on the Overview page for all stores in the organization without access to specific stores. To view detailed reports in a store's Shopify admin, the user needs the Reports permission in that store.
Manage workflows across all stores. A user with this access can perform the following tasks:
Manage the users in your organization. A user with this access can perform the following tasks:
User management access doesn’t let the user change a store’s owner. Only a store owner can transfer ownership, and it can only be changed from within the store.
You can't remove this access from the organization owner.
|Store management||Manage the stores in your organization. A user with this access can create new stores and approve any additional plan fees that might be needed for the store. For example, if you create a store that isn’t covered by your contract, then you’ll be requested to approve a fee for this store.|
The user list contains all the people who are associated with your organization, including:
- Organization owner - the first person in your organization to get access to the Shopify organization admin
- Staff - people who have staff accounts in your stores, or who have access to organization features
- Collaborators - Shopify partners who have access to one or more of your organization's Shopify stores
- POS app-only - people who have Shopify POS app-only staff accounts
- Legacy staff - people who have multiple store accounts and have not yet combined their accounts
The store owner of the main store in your organization is considered the organization owner. The organization owner is the first person who is given access to the Shopify organization admin. By default, this user will start with full permissions.
The organization owner can't be removed or deleted, and always has User management access. As a result, the organization owner can give any user (including themselves) access to any store and any tool in your organization. Currently, you need to contact Shopify Plus Support to change the organization owner. This user cannot be deleted or suspended.
Shopify uses a single login called Shopify ID. Users who have multiple store accounts need to combine their accounts in order to use the features of the Shopify organization admin. Those who have access to multiple stores and who have combined their accounts appear as single users in your user list. Users who haven't combined their accounts have a Legacy staff label and are listed multiple times in the User list. You can't give additional accesses to users who are labelled Legacy staff until they combine their accounts. To learn more, refer to Setting up a Shopify ID.
Combining accounts isn't available to collaborators or Shopify POS app-only users. These users appear as multiple entries in the user list.
Users can have different statuses, such as pending, suspended, or active. Your ability to edit a user's access depends on their status and whether their Shopify accounts have been combined.
|Active||Users who can log in to the Shopify organization admin or a store in your organization, according to the accesses they've been granted.|
|Suspended||Users who can't access the Shopify organization admin or any of your stores. You can't add additional accesses to suspended users until they are reactivated.|
|Pending||Users who can't access any part of your organization until they accept their invitation. These users could have been invited from the Shopify organization admin or directly from a store. You can resend an invitation for users who were invited from the Shopify organization admin.|
To let users log in to a store and make changes to it, you need to give them access to the store and set store permissions for them.
When you give a user access to a store, a staff account is added in that store. Similarly, if you create a staff member in a store, then you can manage that user in the Shopify organization admin. Users invited directly from a store show as a separate user on your Users list until they accept their invitation. After they accept, their user entries are combined into one user on your Users list. Users invited from the Shopify organization admin don't appear in that store's specific Shopify admin until they've accepted the invitation to create an account.
You can require users to enable two-step authentication for their accounts as an additional security measure. If this requirement is set, then users are prompted to set up two-step authentication when they log in. To learn more, refer to Secure your account with two-step authentication.
By default, users are required to enable two-step authentication for their accounts. In this case, users are prompted to set up two-step authentication when they log in. If two-step authentication is not required for an existing user, then you can change this setting to Two-step authentication is not required. Changing the setting logs the user out of Shopify. Before you change the requirement, verify that the user is not in the middle of a task.
When you remove the two-step authentication requirement for an existing user, the user's authentication settings are not updated automatically. In this case, the user must change the security settings for their own account. Until the user disables two-step authentication in their own security settings, they will still be prompted to complete the two-step authentication setup for any store where they have a staff account, whether or not the store is in your organization.
For example, you set a user to require two-step authentication. When prompted, they go through the setup process. They will now be asked to complete two-step authentication when they log in. Later, you remove the requirement for this user. They are still asked to complete two-step authentication, unless they disable two-step authentication in their account.
Add users to your organization by sending them an invitation.
- From the Shopify organization admin, click Users and select Add users.
- Enter the email addresses of the users you want to add.
- Select the level of tools and administration access.
- Select the level of store access.
- Select whether you want to require your users to use two-step authentication.
- Click Send invite.
Your new users now appear in the users list with the Pending status. After they accept your invitation, their status changes to Active.