Canceling, archiving and deleting orders

You can cancel, archive, and delete orders. Canceling an order means that you're stopping an order that's in process. Archiving an order means that you are flagging an order that is done so that you can filter it from your open orders list. Deleting an order means that you are removing it from your Shopify admin.

Cancel an order

If an order is fraudulent, a customer requests a cancellation, or an item was ordered and isn't available, then you might need to cancel an order.

You can only cancel orders in the following situations:

  • You haven't collected a payment for the order.
  • You've collected a payment for the order, but no items have been fulfilled.

If you cancel an order that's fulfilled, then you need to cancel any fulfillments manually. Canceling a fulfillment in Shopify doesn't stop a fulfillment that's in progress.

If you've collected payment for the order, then a full refund is issued when the order is canceled. You can't issue a partial refund with an order cancellation.

To cancel transaction fees for any reason, you need to refund the related order from your Shopify admin. If a bill hasn't been issued when an order is refunded, then you won't be charged transaction fees. If transaction fees have already been billed, then the amount charged is credited to your account. If you cancel an order without refunding payment, then you won't receive credit for the transaction fee.

After you cancel an order, the details about what items are restocked and refunded is stored in the order's Timeline.

Steps:

  1. From your Shopify admin, go to Orders.

  2. Click the order that you want to cancel.

  3. Click More actions > Cancel order.

  4. If payment was captured, then then details about the refund are displayed.

  5. If you don't want the refunded items to be restocked in your inventory, then uncheck Restock items.

  6. Select the reason for cancellation from the drop-down menu.

  7. If you don't want to notify your customer of the cancellation, then uncheck Send a notification to the customer.

  8. Click Cancel order.

Archive a fulfilled order

When you fulfill an order, you can archive it to remove it from the list of open orders. Archiving lets you keep track of open orders that have not yet been completed, and to make sure that you have an accurate count of open orders in Shopify. Archiving an order is not the same as canceling an order. When you archive an order, you don't delete it. You remove it from the open orders list.

To see a complete list of your archived orders, you can apply a filter to your orders list.

You can enable Automatically archive the order in the Order Processing section of the Checkout settings in your Shopify admin if you want all orders to be automatically archived.

Steps:

Your order is now displayed as archived.

Delete an order

Deleted orders are removed from your Shopify admin and are no longer tracked in reports. Only the following types of order can be deleted:

Steps:

  1. From your Shopify admin, go to Orders.

  2. Click an archived or canceled order.

  3. Click Delete this order at the bottom of the page.

Ready to start selling with Shopify?

Try it free