Pausing or closing your store

If you are the account owner, then you can pause your store temporarily or close your store completely at any time. You need to contact any third-party service providers your store uses to ensure your store suspends correctly.

If you have any outstanding charges on your account when you pause or close your store, then you will receive a final invoice from Shopify including these fees. If you have no outstanding charges against your account, then you will receive no invoice after pausing or closing your store. For more information about your invoice, see View your Shopify invoice.

Pause your Shopify store

Pausing your store disables checkout but keeps your store running at a reduced cost. This means customers can see your products but can't purchase them. You can also access your Shopify admin and edit your products when you need to.

If you want to start selling products again, then you can unpause your store at any time by choosing a new Shopify plan.

To pause your Shopify store:

  1. Log in as the account owner.

  1. Scroll to the Store status section:

    The Store status section in the admin
  2. Click Pause store:

    The Pause store button

    You will see a window explaining what happens when you pause your store.

  3. If you agree with the terms and the charges, then click Pause store. Otherwise, click Cancel:

    A window explaining the terms and charges associated with pausing your store

Your store will be paused and running at a reduced cost. When you are ready to start selling products again, you can unpause your store.

After pausing your store

After you pause your store, customers will still be able to see your products but they won’t be able to buy them. You can customize your theme to hide your product prices and hide the Add to cart buttons so that customers don't have the option to buy anything while your store is paused.

If you don't want to display your products while your store is paused, then you can add a password to your online store. This way, customers won't see your products while your store is paused. You can customize your password page and write a message for your customers to see while your store is paused. This can be useful if your store is seasonal or is open only for a specific period of time.

When you are ready to unpause your store

When you're ready to start selling your products again, you can unpause your store.

To unpause your Shopify store:

  1. Log in as the account owner.

  2. Select a plan from the available options. You don't automatically go back on the plan that you were on before you paused your store.

  3. After you've selected a Shopify plan, your store will be unpaused.

If you set a password on your store while it was paused, then you can remove your online store password. Now, if you go to your store's URL, you and your customers will be able to see your products.

Close your Shopify store

If you don't want to run your online store anymore, then you can close it at any time. Unlike pausing your store, when you close your store, you won't have access to your Shopify admin. If you want to log back in, then you will have to enter your credit card details and reactivate your store.

Before you close your store

If you have any third-party apps that have recurring charges, then uninstall them to avoid being billed after you close your store.

If you have a custom domain that you bought through Shopify, then you can transfer it to another provider using OpenSRS. OpenSRS is the domain provider that manages domains that are purchased from within the Shopify admin.

If you have a custom domain that you bought through a third-party, then you can remove it from your store in the admin. If you don't remove your domain from your Shopify store before closing it, then you might not be able to use it for another website.

If you plan to close your store and move your domain to a new platform, then be aware that Shopify's HTTP Strict Transfer Security (HSTS) will remain in effect on your domain for 90 days after you close your store to help ensure the safety of your and your customers' information.

To close your Shopify store:

  1. Log in as the account owner.

  1. Scroll to the Store status section:

    The Store status section in the admin
  2. Click Sell or close store:

    The Close store button
  3. Click Close store.

    Click close store
  4. Enter your password to continue.

  5. At this point, you can contact Shopify to see if there is anything we can do to help. If you're sure that you want to close your store, then select a reason from the drop-down menu and then click Close store:

    A message with the option to call or email Shopify support before closing your store

To confirm that your store is closed, you can go to your store's URL and see that your store no longer appears.

If you choose to re-open your store within 30 days of closing it, then Shopify guarantees that all of your store's data and configuration information will be preserved. We can not guarantee that any data will be preserved longer than 30 days.

Want to discuss this page?

Visit the Shopify Community

Ready to start selling online with Shopify?

Try it free